WT’s Theatre Program receives national and regional awards

WEST TEXAS A&M_1538593837702.png.jpg

One of six invited collegiate productions in a competitive regional field of sixty-eight from Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, New Mexico and Arkansas, WT theatre’s production of Musical of Musicals performed for a regional audience and national critics at the Abilene Civic Center, February 25-28, during the Region VI Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF). In addition, WT theatre students competed in individual events for national and regional awards and commendations.

National Awards:

  • Outstanding Musical Theatre Performer and Kennedy Center National Musical Theatre Fellow – Zachary Perrin
  • Distinguished Musical Theatre Performance- Macy Watts
  • Distinguished Musical Theatre Performance- Caleb Aguilar
  • Distinguished Performance and Production – The Ensemble of Musical of Musicals

National Commendations:

  • Christine Lisa Basse- Musical Theatre Performance
  • Micaela Grenier- Musical Theatre Performance
  • Royal R. Brantley- Direction of Musical of Musicals
  • Crystal Bertrand- Choreography for Musical of Musicals
  • Bradley J. Behrmann – Musical Direction of Musical of Musicals

Regional Awards:

  • John Landon, Best Regional Technical Load-in/Load-out of a Production
  • Cydnee Augesen, Regional Award for Best Makeup Design for WTAMU’s production of Musical of Musicals
  • L’Hannah Pedigo, Regional Finalist/Excellence in Lighting Design for WTAMU’s production of Musical of Musicals
  • Christian Howard, Excellence in Sound Design for WTAMU’s production of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead.Howard’s award includes a weeklong fellowship with the Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas, Nevada.
  • Driana Bramer, Regional Finalist/Excellence in Costume Design for WTAMU’s production of Peter and the Starcatcher
  • Macy Elise Watts, Regional Finalist, Irene Ryan Acting Competition
  • Kenzie Redwine, Regional Finalist, Musical Theatre Initiative
  • Zach Perrin, Caitlin Standish, Chloe Ridolfo, Christine Lisa Basse, and Hannah Green, Regional Finalists for the Musical Theatre Dance Initiative
  • Kaelee Eichorst, Invited Director, Student Directed Initiative

This is the third year in a row that WT theatre has advanced a production to the regional competition. A rare achievement, the “three peat” appearance by WT theatre is their seventh overall regional performance since starting competition in the KCACTF in 1994: The Homage That Follows (1997), The Old Boy (2005), Rabbit Hole (2009), Iphigenia 2.0 (2013), Brooklyn (2017), Luna Gale (2018) and Musical of Musicals (2019).

For a glance at the upcoming season, visit here. Tickets are $12 for plays, $16 for musicals and free to those with a Buffalo Gold Card. Please call the Box Office for more information at 806-651-2804.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Video Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss