KAMR Local 4 News wins 2019 Edward R. Murrow Regional Award

Top Stories

KAMR Local 4 News has won a 2019 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in Feature Reporting for “Through the Fire.” It’s the story of John and Kris Erickson and their life after the 2017 Perryton Fire. Anchor Andy Justus and Chief Photographer Brandon McClain put the piece together.

KAMR Local 4 News is the only station in Amarillo to win a 2019 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award.

A record 4,600 entries were submitted for the 2019 competition. There were more than 720 regional winners selected from 309 local radio and TV newsrooms for breaking news, continuing coverage, investigative reporting, feature reporting and more.

As a regional winner, the feature piece will move on to the national round of the competition. 

KAMR Local 4 News won in the small market television category. Small television markets are considered market 50 and below. 

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.

“Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism,” according to RTDNA’s website. 

National winners, including large and small digital news organizations and network news organizations, will be announced in June.

BEHIND THE STORY: Jackie Kingston talks with Andy Justus on the creation of ‘Through the Fire.’

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Forecast

Don't Miss