Oklahoma governor adds 14 counties to emergency declaration


Oklahoma Gov. Kevin Stitt has added 14 counties to an emergency declaration he signed following a series of severe storms that have spawned tornadoes and caused flooding across the state.

Stitt on Wednesday amended an executive order he issued last week following a wave of severe weather that began on April 30. The original emergency declaration listed 52 counties, and Wednesday’s amendment brings the total to 66 counties.

Stitt says the counties have experienced flooding, severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds over the past week. The governor says damage assessments are ongoing and can’t be completed until floodwaters recede.

The order authorizes state agencies to make emergency purchases to expedite the delivery of resources to local cities and towns. It’s also a first step toward seeking federal assistance if necessary.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Video Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss