Marty Rowley Files for Re-Election to State Board of Education District 15

Marty Rowley

State Board of Education Member Marty Rowley has filed the necessary paperwork to run for re-election to the SBOE today.  Having served on the SBOE since 2013, Rowley has been endorsed by education and legislative leaders in his bid for re-election to the fifteen member state-wide board.  (See the attached endorsements.)

Elected in November of 2012 by a 76% to 24% margin, Rowley hit the ground running and was praised for his effective leadership, especially when focusing his mediation experience to build consensus among members producing measurable results. Along with serving on the full board, Marty was elected Chairman of the Committee on School Initiatives, and was recently appointed by Board Chair, Donna Bahorich, as the Board’s liaison to the Commissioner for Charter Schools.

During his first term of office, Marty served a critical role in crafting flexible pathways under House Bill 5 for Texas students to follow college or career plans after graduation. A passionate conservative, he also stood against the encroachment of the federal government’s Common Core program by helping to formulate and support quality learning standards for Texas classrooms. In addition, Rowley has provided visionary leadership serving as the Chairman of the task force charged with developing a Long Range Plan for Texas public education.

“Serving the voters of the 77 counties of District 15 has been truly humbling,” noted Rowley. “I fought – and with the voters continued support – I will keep on fighting to guarantee that the values that permeate our region remain in the education system.  I believe our children and grandchildren should acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to better their chances for success in the future.”

Marty is an attorney and certified mediator who served as pastor of an 8,000 member church in his home town of Amarillo. He and his wife Cindy have been married for 34 years, and have two sons and one daughter, who have all graduated from Texas public schools.

District 15 stretches across almost 1/3 of the great state of Texas. From the Panhandle to the South Plains to the Permian Basin, District 15 is the largest educational district of Texas and includes the following counties:

Andrews, Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Borden, Briscoe, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Cooke, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Jones, Kent, King, Knox, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Mitchell, Montague, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Yoakum and Young.

(News release from Landtroop Strategies)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Video Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss