Amarillo KOA Journey wins major awards during annual convention

Local News

KOA NEWS SERVICE (KAMR/KCIT) – Kampgrounds of America have announced that the Amarillo KOA Journey has earned the 2021 KOA President’s Award and KOA Founder’s Award. These were presented today, at KOA’s Annual International Convention.

The KOA Founder’s Award, according to the organization, is named for Dave Drum, who founded KOA in 1962. and is KOA’s highest service award. It is awarded exclusively to those KOA campground owners and managers who attain world-class scores in both customer service and the KOA Quality Review.

The KOA President’s Award is described by the organization as presented to those campgrounds meeting exceptional quality standards and who receive high customer service scores from their camping guests. KOA surveys hundreds of thousands of campers each year regarding their KOA camping experience.  

“Our campground owners and their staffs work so hard to ensure each and every guest has a truly exceptional camping experience so it’s a pleasure to recognize this work,” said KOA President and CEO Toby O’Rourke. “Our President’s and Founder’s Awards are driven by camper feedback and, especially this year, it really points to the work that’s been done to ensure each camper has the best outdoor experience. These KOA owners have made the right investments in their campgrounds to make them the very best in North America.”

KOA is celebrating its 58th anniversary in 2020. To find out more about this KOA, or any of the other 515 KOAs in the U.S. or Canada, go to  

More from

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Video Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss