Current Burn Bans in Viewing Area


18 counties in Texas and three in Oklahoma have a burn ban in effect.

Sherman, Moore, Hutchinson, Roberts, Hemphill, Oldham, Potter, Carson, Gray, Wheeler, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Collingsworth, Parmer, Swisher Hall, and Childress county in Beaver, Texas and Cimarron County in Oklahoma currently have a burn ban in place.

In Texas, anyone who violates the burn ban faces a Class C Misdemeanor.

In Texas, local governments are empowered to take action on the behalf of those they serve. 

When drought conditions exist, a burn ban can be put in place by a county judge or county commissioners court prohibiting or restricting outdoor burning for public safety.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Video Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss