September 1 is fast approaching and that means a lot of changes coming around Texas where new laws will go into effect.
From firearms to lemonade stands and age restrictions to alcohol sales, there are a few laws you might want to be aware of.
Open carry allowed after a natural disaster
After Hurricane Harvey and the Alto tornadoes, many people were left vulnerable when it came to protecting what little they had left.
A new bill allows Texans complying with an evacuation order to temporarily carry their guns without a license for up to 48 hours, so long as they’re not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.
Legalized lemonade stands
Originally, cities and neighborhoods banned lemonade stands and required permits for children to operate them.
Support for this law grew after police in Overton shut down a lemonade stand run by two siblings who were raising money to buy their dad a father’s day present.
Now, all children will be able to operate lemonade stands without a license.
Tobacco age raised to 21
Despite the controversy, Texas became the 16th state in the U.S. to raise the minimum purchasing age for tobacco to 21 years.
According to the Texas21 Coalition, 7.4% of high school students smoke and over 10% use e-cigarettes, while 10,400 kids become daily smokers every year.
The age restriction does not apply to those in the military, where they are allowed to join at 18 years of age without parent’s consent.
Texans can purchase beer-to-go
The new law extends the operations of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission and reduces burdensome regulations on the beer and wine industry.
Now people are allowed to purchase and take beer home from craft breweries in Texas.
Dogs are allowed on restaurant patios
After signing, cities cannot pass ordinances that restrict restaurants from allowing people from bringing their pets with them to outdoor eating areas.
Dogs will be required to be on leashes, be well controlled, and well-behaved.
The new legislation aims to slow the growth of Texans’ property tax bills.
Now, if a city or county government wants to raise 3.5 percent more property tax revenue from the previous year, they must get voter approval.
Feral hogs can be killed without a license
Feral hogs have caused thousands in property damages throughout the Southern U.S.
Now Texans are allowed to kill them without a license and don’t have to prove damages before killing.
- Governor Abbott highlights important topics during Town Hall in Tyler
- Gov. Abbott coming to Tyler on Thursday, will host live town hall exclusively on KETK