Candidates Who Have Filed to Run in May Municipal Election


Today was the deadline to file paperwork to run in the municipal and AISD school board elections on May 4. 

Altogether, we have 14 candidates running in the municipal election, and eight candidates hoping to land a spot on the AISD school board.

Below is a complete list of everyone running in the May election, and which positions they are running for.

City of Amarillo:


  • Ginger Nelson – Incumbent
  • Claudette R. Smith
  • Kip Billups

Councilmember No. 1

  • Elaine Hays – Incumbent
  • Hayden Pedigo
  • Jay U. Kirkman, III
  • Richard Herman

Councilmember No. 2

  • Freda Powell – Incumbent
  • Treva Harper

Councilmember No. 3

  • Eddy Sauer – Incumbent
  • Tom Warren II
  • Brad Torch

Councilmember No. 4

  • Howard Smith – Incumbent
  • Steven Rosas

Amarillo ISD:

  • Kimberly Anderson
  • Jim Austin – Incumbent
  • John Betancourt – Incumbent
  • Hobert Brown, Jr.
  • Alonzo Everhart
  • Dick Ford
  • Aaron Ladd
  • Rob Parker

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Forecast

Don't Miss