Candidates File for May 6 Amarillo City Council Election


Election filings are over and we now have the list of the Mayoral and City Council candidates.

Two incumbents are in and three are out in the race for Amarillo City Council.

Controversial Councilman Randy Burkett is among the Incumbents who will not seek another term.

He did not file the necessary paperwork by today’s deadline.

There are nearly two dozen candidates for the five spots on the council including three running for Mayor.

For weeks, we’ve heard speculation of who could appear on the ballot in the upcoming election.

Today, as the clock ticked closer to the deadline, the city saw a few more people throw their hats into the ring.

“We’ve had two within the last hour, so I probably expect a couple more at least,” said Frances Hibbs, Amarillo City Secretary 

And Hibbs’ assumptions were correct.

For the last day of filings, four people made it official by turning in their paperwork. 

Bringing the total number of Amarillo candidates to 11 people. 

For the Mayoral seat, Ginger Nelson is up against Renea Dauntes and  James Lowder.

Running for Place One is Incumbent Councilman Elisha Demerson and Elaine Hays.

In Place Two, voters will decide between Frieda Powell and James Schenck.

In the race for Place Three Eddy Sauer and Thomas Warren II

And for Place Four, it’s Howard smith versus Incumbent Mark Nair.

Although their paperwork is filed, there’s still a chance you may not see their names on the ballot come May.

“Well, we’ll have to vet those people and make sure they don’t owe any money to the city. And then make sure that they’re qualified candidates,” said Hibbs.

Hibbs says the vetting process for the Amarillo candidates will happen next week.

Meanwhile in Canyon, out of seven people running for different positions, a few will run unopposed. 

Gary Hinders is a lone candidate in the Mayoral race.

Incumbent Joseph Shehan and Cordell “Cody” Rook Jones are in the running for Place Two.

Incumbent David Logan and Paul Lyons are running for Place Three.

In the race four Place Four, Roger Remlinger will run unopposed.

And incumbent Justin Richardson is running unopposed for Place Five.

The General Municipal election is scheduled for Saturday, May 6th.

After the vetting process, Hibbs says there will be a drawing to see how the candidates will be placed on the ballot.

We’re told the official ballot will first be sent to the different counties’ Elections officials.

They’ll then prepare the ballot for the May Election.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Video Forecast

Don't Miss