61st Annual Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame


Watch the video above to see our coverage from today’s Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame ceremony.

Below is a complete list of honorees from Sunday’s ceremony.

2018 PSHOF Honorees

Del Ray Mounts, Perryton, Texas Tech, 179th member

Ona Lee (Hedrick) Johnson, Phillips and Amarillo, 180th member

Bobby Dibler, Amarillo and El Paso, 181st member

Lance Lahnert, Amarillo, 182nd member

Jon Mark Beilue, Amarillo, 183rd member

Coaches of the Year

Baseball: Jeff Timmons, Amarillo High School

Basketball: Tom Brown, West Texas A&M

Cross Country: Ray Baca, Canyon High School

Co-Football: Clint Linman, McLean High School; Ken Plunk, Tascosa High School

Golf: Meredith Jameson, West Texas A&M

Soccer: Irvin Johnson, Palo Duro High School

Softball: Michael Rose, Bushland High School

Tennis: Johnathon Gonzales, Canyon High School

Track: Brandon Smith, Valley High School

Volleyball: Jason Culpepper, Randall High School

Wrestling: Clint Chamblin, Dumas High School

Athletes of the Year

Baseball: Max Marusak, Amarillo High School

Basketball: David Chavlovich, West Texas A&M

Cross Country: Briggs Wittlake, West Texas A&M

Co-Football: Ben Crockett, McLean High School; King Doerue, Tascosa High School

Golf: Luke Kane, Amarillo

Soccer: Rogelio Nunez, Palo Duro High School

Softball: Ashley Hardin, West Texas A&M

Co-Tennis: Rajiv Saralaya, Amarillo High School; Avery Zavala, Tascosa High School

Track: Jake Merrell, Valley High School

Volleyball: Zoe Hardin, Amarillo High School/Harding University

Wrestling: Johnathon Ortegon, Randall High School

Special Achievement Awards

Kilee Hilbert, West Texas A&M softball/academics

Johnny Hampton family of champions, Canyon

Taylor Cornelius, Bushland High School/Oklahoma State

West Texas A&M men’s and women’s soccer programs

Super Team Award: Amarillo High girls basketball team, 5A state champions

Big Play Award: Amarillo High School girls basketball player Madison Stokes made two free throws late in a playoff game in a 52-49 win.

Dick Risenhoover Award: Heston Kjerstad, baseball, Randall High School and Arkansas Razorbacks.

Dee Henry Inspiration Award: Chism Henderson, McLean football player.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Forecast

Don't Miss