After an intense public outcry, Twitter says it's restoring a feature that lets users *block* unwanted followers.
The social media giant had changed the feature to one that simply hides tweets from users who are blocked.
Kind of like a Twitter version of a "mute" button.
Critics said that feature didn't stop users from being harassed -- it just blinded victims to the fact that they were being targeted.
The company announced it was bringing back the old block feature after its executives met in San Francisco Thursday.
Copyright 2013 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.