Thanksgiving: A Gluten Minefield

Thanksgiving: A Gluten Minefield

A typical Thanksgiving feast can mean big trouble for someone with a gluten sensitivity.
(NBC News) The typical Thanksgiving feast can be a minefield for anyone with gluten sensitivity.

It can lurk in everything from turkey to spice packets.

Gluten is found in products with wheat, barley or rye but can be hidden even in the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

"The turkey that you buy for Thanksgiving may have fillers added to it that contain gluten," says registered dietitian Lisa Cimperman.

Cimperman says gluten is often added to gravy and seasoning or herb packets.

Still, going gluten-free on Thanksgiving does not mean you'll be left with an empty plate.

You can stuff yourself with stuffing as long as it's made with gluten-free cornbread.

For those who need their pumpkin pie fix, Pillsbury now offers a gluten-free pie crust. 

"Another good option for dessert would be an apple crumble that uses gluten-free oats in the topping," Cimperman notes.

Those sensitive to gluten can be thankful there are more options on grocery store shelves than ever before with Americans spending billions of dollars a year on the products.

As you're gobbling up your gluten-free Thanksgiving dinner, experts say it is worth remembering gluten-free does not mean fat-free.
If you're a guest this year simply ask the cook questions. 

The way food is prepared can also be an issue.  

Turkey is sometimes brined in beer which, of course, contains gluten.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus