Buffs Fifth in Initial NCAA Super Region Four Ranking

CANYON, Texas – The 15th-ranked West Texas A&M football team is fifth in the initial NCAA Division II Super Region Four rankings, which were released by the NCAA Monday.  The complete rankings can be found byclicking here.


If the season were to end today, the Buffs would be in the 24-team NCAA Division II football playoffs and would open at fourth-seeded and fellow Lone Star Conference member Midwestern State. 


Colorado State-Pueblo (7-0 D II, 8-0 overall) of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC) is the top team in the initial poll, followed by Ohio Dominican (6-0, 7-0) of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) and Saginaw Valley State (7-1) also of the GLIAC  is third.


Midwestern State (6-1) is fourth, followed by the Buffs (7-1) and Indianapolis (6-0, 7-1) of the Great Lakes Valley Conference is sixth round out the teams in the initial region field for the playoffs.


Chadron State of the RMAC, who WT beat in the Lone Star Football Festival earlier this season 34-31, is seventh, followed by Grand Valley State of the GLIAC, Texas A&M-Commerce and Tarleton State round out the first rankings.


Colorado State-Pueblo hosts Colorado Mesa on the first Saturday of November, while Ohio Dominican is at Tiffin (Ohio) and Saginaw Valley State is at Michigan Tech.  Midwestern State hosts Menlo (Calif.), while WT hosts Eastern New Mexico in the annual Wagon Wheel Game at 6 p.m. at Kimbrough Memorial Stadium and Indianapolis travels to St. Jospeh’s (Ind.).  

Buff fans can listen to the game Saturday against ENMU on 710 AM KGNC with Neil Horn and Brice Sheets having the call.  Fans also can access live stats, tickets and streaming of the game on www.gobuffsgo.com.  

The rankings will be announced each week the rest of the regular season leading up to Selection Sunday on Nov. 17, 2013.  The first round of the NCAA Playoffs is scheduled for Nov. 23, with the second round Nov. 30, the quarterfinals on Dec. 7, and the semifinals on Dec. 14.  The Division II National Championship is scheduled for Dec. 21, at Braly Municipal Stadium in Florence, Ala.

More Stories

Latest News