Vaughan Named LSC Male Athlete of the Year


RICHARDSON, Texas – West Texas A&M football star Dustin Vaughan continued to add to his career accomplishments as he was named Lone Star Conference Male Athlete of the Year, which was announced Tuesday by the league office, based on a vote of the conference’s sports information directors. 

He is the first Buffalo to earn the prestigious honor in school history on the men’s side since the award began in 1999.  WT junior softball standout Renee Erwin earned LSC Female Athlete of the Year honors as WT swept the award for the first time in school history and second time in conference history (Texas A&M-Kingsville, 2002).  Erwin is the fourth Lady Buff to earn the honor and seventh overall winner for the Lady Buffs as Emily Brister won four consecutive times for women’s basketball from 2006-2009.  Celeste Stevenson also earned the honor for women’s basketball in 2005 and Sarah Butler won in 2000 for volleyball.

Vaughan, a native of Corpus Christi, Texas, was named Fred Jacoby Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the LSC yesterday.  Following Vaughan in the standings, men’s golf standout Derek Oland of Midwestern State was second, followed by men’s basketball star Chuck Guy of Tarleton State. 

A senior biology/pre-medicine major, Vaughan capped his outstanding career as the only quarterback at any level this season to pass for over 5,000 yards with 5,401, which are the most all-time in Division II.  He led the nation in passing and was second in passing yards per game at 385.7.  Vaughan’s 53 touchdown passes were the best in the nation and the most in league and school history in a season, as well as being the third-most all-time in Division II.  For his career, he owns the school and conference records for passing yards, (13,525), total yards (13,608) and touchdowns (123).

He is a two-time LSC Offensive Player of the Year, finished runner-up in the prestigious Harlon Hill Award and earned American Football Coaches Association All-America honors this season as he helped guide the Buffs to an 11-3 record and a berth in the NCAA Quarterfinals.  He was tabbed LSC Academic Player of the Year for a second time in 2013, a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-America selection and was the 2012 CoSIDA Academic Division II Football Player of the Year.  Vaughan also earned an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete.  He recently signed a free-agent contract with the Dallas Cowboys.

LSC MALE ATHLETE OF YEAR (Name, School, Year, Sport, Points):  Dustin Vaughan, West Texas A&M, Sr., Football, 20; Derek Oland, Midwestern State, Jr., Golf, 7; Chuck Guy, Tarleton State, Sr., Men's Basketball, 6; Jeron Robinson, Texas A&M-Kingsville, So., Indoor Track & Field, Outdoor Track & Field, 6; Charles Tuaau, Texas A&M-Commerce, Jr., Football, 3; Isaiah Samoei, Eastern New Mexico, Sr., Track & Field, 3; Kenny Williams, Angelo State, Sr., Men's Basketball, 3; Dylan McClure, Cameron, Jr., Men's Golf, 0.

LSC FEMALE ATHLETE OF YEAR (Name, School, Year, Sport, Points): Renee Erwin, West Texas A&M, Jr., Softball, 22; Kiara Wright, Tarleton State, Sr., Women's Basketball, 10; Morgan Spearman, Angelo State, Sr., Softball, 9; Kendra Sancet, Texas Woman's, Jr., Softball, 6; Kim Jerrick, Midwestern State, Sr., Softball, 6; Tara Martini, Cameron, Jr., Softball, 1; Aurelia Sandoval, Eastern New Mexico, Jr., Softball, 0; Brandy Rivera, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Sr., Golf, 0; Jordan Neal, Texas A&M-Commerce, Sr., Volleyball, 0.


Year       Male

2014       Dustin Vaughan, West Texas A&M, Sr., Football

2013       Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian, Sr., Golf

2012       Nick Jones, Abilene Christian, Sr., Track & Field

2011       Chase Larsson, Cameron, Jr., Baseball

2010       Cyril Bouniol, Abilene Christian, Jr., Golf

2009       Bernard Scott, Abilene Christian, Sr., Football

2008       Sam Belt, Central Oklahoma, Sr., Basketball

2007       Nicodemus Naimadu, Abilene Christian, Sr., CC/Track & Field

2006       Danieal Manning, Abilene Christian, Football

2005       Drew Beard, Southeastern Okla., Football

2004       Cole Province, Central Oklahoma, Wrestling

2003       Olan Coleman, Tarleton State, Football/Track & Field

2002       Steve Kelly, Tarleton State, Football

2001       Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track & Field

2000       Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track & Field

1999       Eddie Robinson, Central Oklahoma, Basketball

Year       Female

2014       Renee Erwin, West Texas A&M, Jr., Softball

2013       Katie Hines, Texas Woman's, Jr., Softball

2012       Elsamartina Apo, Angelo State, Sr., Softball

2011       Carla Cooper, Tarleton State, Sr., Golf

2010       Aisha Adams, Angelo State, Sr., Track & Field

2009       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Sr., Basketball

2008       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Jr., Basketball

2007       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, So., Basketball

2006       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Fr., Basketball

2005       Celeste Stevenson, West Texas A&M, Basketball

2004       Michelle Hofmann, Angelo State, Softball

2003       LaTasha Mosley, Angelo State, Track & Field

2002       Brandi Robinson, Southeastern Okla., Basketball

2001       Precious Thibodeaux, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Basketball/Track & Field

2000       Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M, Volleyball

1999       Tracy Barnes, Abilene Christian, Track & Field

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News