Renee Erwin Named the 2014 Lone Star Conference Female Athlete of the Year


RICHARDSON, Texas – West Texas A&M junior outfielder Renee Erwin added another honor to her already impressive resume on Tuesday afternoon as the Anna, Texas native was named the 2014 Lone Star Conference Female Athlete of the Year announced by the league’s offices in Richardson, Texas following a vote of the league’s sports information directors.

Erwin becomes the fourth female student-athlete from WT to claim the honor, joining former Lady Buff basketball standouts Emily Brister (2006-09) and Celeste Stevenson (2005) along with Sarah Butler (volleyball) back in 2000. Former West Texas A&M quarterback and current Dallas Cowboy Dustin Vaughan was named the league’s Male Athlete of the Year announced Tuesday, becoming the school’s first male recipient.

“What an honor for Renee, she stepped into a leadership role this season and the results speak for themselves. She is one of the most talented softball players that I’ve had the privilege of coaching in my 23 years, not only that she’s an even better student-athlete and person” said WT head coach Kevin Blaskowski “Offensively she is a three-dimensional player that can put pressure on a defense with the long ball and by hitting for average while having great speed and instinct on the basepaths. A major part of her game in in the field on defense, Renee has become one of the best outfielders in the history of this program thanks to her hard work along with Coach Helland’s guidance.”

The Anna, Texas, native was the backbone of the powerful WT offense and helped guide the Lady Buffs to the 2014 NCAA Division II National Championship and a 60-7 record on the year. The junior led the team with a .459 average including 20 doubles, six triples and 18 homeruns to drive in 75 RBI. Erwin recorded a slugging percentage of .902 with 42 walks for an on-base percentage of .574 while going a perfect 22-for-22 on stolen bases. She had 57 putouts and seven assists with just two errors in right field for a fielding percentage of .970.

An All-LSC first team selection, Erwin was also selected for the league's Golden Glove team and All-Tournament Team. She earned Daktronics All-South Central Region first team and Ron Lenz Player of the Year accolades while being named an All-American by the NFCA (2nd Team) and Daktronics (1st Team). Erwin was named to the NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team as well. She broke the LSC single season record for total runs scored (81) and tied the league’s single season record for total bases (175).


Year       Male

2014       Dustin Vaughan, West Texas A&M, Sr., Football

2013       Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian, Sr., Golf

2012       Nick Jones, Abilene Christian, Sr., Track & Field

2011       Chase Larsson, Cameron, Jr., Baseball

2010       Cyril Bouniol, Abilene Christian, Jr., Golf

2009       Bernard Scott, Abilene Christian, Sr., Football

2008       Sam Belt, Central Oklahoma, Sr., Basketball

2007       Nicodemus Naimadu, Abilene Christian, Sr., CC/Track & Field

2006       Danieal Manning, Abilene Christian, Football

2005       Drew Beard, Southeastern Okla., Football

2004       Cole Province, Central Oklahoma, Wrestling

2003       Olan Coleman, Tarleton State, Football/Track & Field

2002       Steve Kelly, Tarleton State, Football

2001       Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track & Field

2000       Roberto Garza, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Football/Track & Field

1999       Eddie Robinson, Central Oklahoma, Basketball

Year       Female

2014       Renee Erwin, West Texas A&M, Jr., Softball

2013       Katie Hines, Texas Woman's, Jr., Softball

2012       Elsamartina Apo, Angelo State, Sr., Softball

2011       Carla Cooper, Tarleton State, Sr., Golf

2010       Aisha Adams, Angelo State, Sr., Track & Field

2009       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Sr., Basketball

2008       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Jr., Basketball

2007       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, So., Basketball

2006       Emily Brister, West Texas A&M, Fr., Basketball

2005       Celeste Stevenson, West Texas A&M, Basketball

2004       Michelle Hofmann, Angelo State, Softball

2003       LaTasha Mosley, Angelo State, Track & Field

2002       Brandi Robinson, Southeastern Okla., Basketball

2001       Precious Thibodeaux, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Basketball/Track & Field

2000       Sarah Butler, West Texas A&M, Volleyball

1999       Tracy Barnes, Abilene Christian, Track & Field

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News