Field Set for 2014 Lone Star Conference Softball Championship


CANYON -- Coming off of the program’s first outright regular season Lone Star Conference Championship this past weekend in a sweep of Angelo State, the #1 Lady Buffs of West Texas A&M have earned the right to host the 2014 Lone Star Conference Softball Championship taking place this Friday and Saturday at Schaeffer Park in Canyon, Texas.

Action will start on Friday morning at 11 a.m. with third seeded Texas Woman’s and sixth seeded Tarleton State followed by fourth seeded Midwestern State against fifth seeded Cameron at 1:30 p.m. The TWU/TSU winner will face-off with the tournament’s second seed, Angelo State, in the semifinal round at 4 p.m. followed by the top seeded Lady Buffs taking on the MSU/CU winner with first pitch set for 6:30 p.m.

The 2014 Lone Star Conference Tournament Champion will be crowned on Saturday afternoon with first pitch set for 2 p.m. in Canyon. The winner of the tournament will receive the league's automatic bid into the NCAA Division II Softball Postseason. The NCAA Division II postseason field is set for release on Monday, May 5 at 9 a.m. via an online selection show on

As part of the league's partnership with the Comcast SportsNet Houston regional sports network, the championship game Saturday will be aired live on the CSN Houston. The title game will be available via live web streaming as well at In addition, all four games on Friday will be web streamed live. The webcasts are available free of charge. 

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News