Texas Governor Extends Drought Declaration

By Karl Wehmhoener | kwehmhoener@kamr.com

Published 05/12 2014 02:44PM

Updated 05/12 2014 06:06PM

AUSTIN --  Governor Perry has extended the drought declaration for much of Texas.
That declaration says thatlow rainfall and declining reservoir and aquifer levels are putting many counties in danger. 
It was originally made back on July 5, 2011. 
The declaration frees up federal funding to help out with the drought. 
The following counties are part of the drought declaration:

Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Cottle, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, and Wheeler County.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.