Texas Governor Extends Drought Declaration Monday

By Karl Wehmhoener | kwehmhoener@kamr.com

Published 06/10 2014 11:55AM

Updated 06/10 2014 05:16PM

AUSTIN --  Governor Perry has extended the drought declaration for much of Texas.
That declaration says thatlow rainfall and declining reservoir and aquifer levels are putting many counties in danger. 
It was originally made back on July 5, 2011. 
The declaration frees up federal funding to help out with the drought. 
The following counties are part of the drought declaration:

Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Cottle, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, and Wheeler County.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.