Justice For All

By Steve Handelsman

Published 02/10 2014 04:26PM

Updated 02/10 2014 04:35PM

(NBC News)  The Justice Department has extended a new package of federal benefits to married gay couples, even if they live in states where same sex marriage is not allowed.  

Legally wed same sex couples will now enjoy the federal rights of all married couples, if they're wed in one of the 16 states, and the District of Columbia, that allow gay marriage.

Their federal rights won't disappear when they go home to the states where same-sex marriage is not allowed or banned.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.