Gov. Perry Extends Drought Declaration

By Karl Wehmhoener |

Published 08/04 2014 05:09PM

Updated 08/04 2014 06:15PM

AUSTIN --  Governor Perry has extended the drought declaration for much of Texas.

That declaration says the drought conditions are putting many counties in danger. 

It was originally made back on July 5, 2011. 

The declaration frees up federal funding to help out with the drought. 

The following counties are part of the drought declaration:

Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Carson, Childress, Collingsworth, Cottle, Dallam, Donley, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb,  Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, and Wheeler.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.