"Gluten-Free" Now Has To Really Mean Gluten-Free

By CNN

Published 08/06 2014 12:03PM

Updated 08/06 2014 12:04PM

The deadline is up!

According to the Food and Drug Adminstration, to use the gluten free label, products must now have an undetectable level of gluten and cannot have an ingredient containing Wheat, Rye, Barley, or any of their derivatives.

Last August, the FDA said food manufacturers had one year to meet the requirements.

If manufacturers don't, they will be subject to regulatory action from the FDA.

The ruling applies to packaged foods only.

FDA suggests that consumers remain inquisitive and ask questions about their food in restaurants and other establishments.

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.